top of page

What it Means to be Human

How do you identify? Especially, how do you prioritize your identity? I've often wondered this with women who are transgendered. What matters more? Sexuality, culture or the human spirit inside.


As an African-American woman, I've gotten to the place in life where I appreciate having a collective identity and am working on strengthening my individual one. Its something that, I realize transforms over time because we add layers to what we know of ourselves.Presently, I am identifying with what I do. I write. But, I am all too cognizant that I am first a human spirit in the feminine form and I prioritize that over cultural or racial identity.


This is not a call to arms. However, I do believe that the question one of my favorite writers and orators asked, 'Ain't I a woman too?' is one that is reflective and I have been wondering how, over the last few months, I night share this thought while blogging.


With the violence we see perpetrated by those who would have us identify as they see us, its a wonder that so many are awakening to the fact that we, women of color and especially African-American women, have the human desires that all women have: that of a need for intimacy, love, security, family closeness, and a sense of overall well being. We're designed that way as are even our male counterparts.


I'm sure your list may also have additional needs because we are complex characters, shaped by our individual and collective experience. And some may argue the former should count for more than the latter. That may be the point of this month's reflection.


I am breathing in this reflection that I am human first, which means I can and do need to lean on God, myself and my loved ones. It means that my tears matter as much as my joy and my laughter. It means that the divine sees me as whole but realizes I may need more time to catch up to his model and calling. And it is that way, even at the age of half a century.


While I don't wish to shed the labels that society identifies me with - being black or African-American for me is an honor and privilege - many in my Generation Z understand that. I do wish to cut back on the amount of me I give away be that to a cause, a employer, or an other. In 2022, i'm not afraid to turn those lights down, somewhat, and celebrate in more intimate circles the gains. Leaving behind what I see has become a role we are celebrated for - the altruistic role of the woman that holds the world up and then falls apart in private.








Comments


MY FEATURED POSTS

No posts published in this language yet
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

FOLLOW US

  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow

I’M ALWAYS HAPPY

TO GET TO KNOW MY READERS AND SHARE INSIGHTS AND IDEAS. 

 

DROP ME A LINE 

Success! Message received.

bottom of page